Back To Top

MEDICAL CANNABIS STRAINS

Many people are aware that medical cannabis is a medicine that can be used to treat a wide range of conditions. What is less well known, however, is that there are many different varieties of medical cannabis that have different effects and can thus be used for different diseases. About 700 varieties have been named and described (1). Which cannabis strain is best for a patient depends on factors such as the cannabinoid and terpene profile of the strain and the condition being treated.

What is a medical cannabis strain?

A cannabis strain can be defined as either a pure or hybrid strain of a plant from the plant genus Cannabis, which is commonly divided into the species Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica and Cannabis ruderalis. Even though about 700 varieties have already been described, the total number remains a topic of controversy among experts (1). Hybrid varieties that are bred and stabilized over several generations can become a new strain themselves. Therefore, some databases estimate that the total number of varieties could be as high as 3,600 (2). Furthermore, the commonly used terms “varieties” and “strain” are not the most accurate, since in the botanical sciences, the term “cultivar” is more commonly used (3).

You may also have heard that the names sativa, indica and hybrid are used as a classification system to describe the effect of cannabis varieties. Sativa strains are said to be invigorating and energising, helping to increase creativity and focus, while indica strains are typically associated with more physical effects, such as increasing deep relaxation and reducing insomnia. Hybrid strains are attributed with a mixture of both. However, this classification is generally not accepted by the scientific community, as this classification system is not very helpful in terms of chemical composition, apart from giving clues to the physical properties and physiology of a plant. There are currently no identifiable biochemical characteristics that would support a classification into indica, sativa and hybrid. A more reliable classification system is the cannabinoid and terpene profile.(4)

Cannabinoids

Cannabinoids, in this case also referred to as phytocannabinoids, i.e. cannabinoids of plant origin, are a broad group of active compounds in cannabis that have different chemical structures and pharmacological functions. They are mainly produced in the glandular trichomes of the plant. To date, about 120 have been identified and described (5). These cannabinoids are chemically similar to the body’s own endocannabinoids, which allows them to interact with the receptors of the endocannabinoid system (ECS). The ECS is a nerve cell modulating system that plays an important role in the transmission of signals between cells and in the central nervous system. These include CB1 and CB2 receptors found in the body and immune cells, respectively (6). The two best known and researched cannabinoids are THC and CBD, but other cannabinoids are also currently being studied for their unique effects.

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC)

Δ-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol, also known as THC and dronabinol, is the main source of the psychotropic effects associated with cannabis use (7). It binds to the CB1 and CB2 receptors of the endocannabinoid system, and thus can stimulate appetite and relax muscles, among other effects.

Cannabidiol (CBD)

CBD, cannabidiol, on the other hand, is not psychoactive and its biological mechanism of action is not fully understood. Despite its low affinity for CB1 and CB2 receptors, CBD has been shown to influence the effects of THC by antagonizing these receptors, thereby reducing side effects of THC (7). The list of ailments for which CBD can help is growing. However, more research is needed to better understand the efficacy and range of benefits of CBD.

Other cannabinoids

Besides CBD and THC, there are other cannabinoids that have recently come under closer scrutiny by scientists due to their special properties. These include cannabichromene (CBC), which seems to have antidepressant and analgesic effects (8,9), cannabigerol (CBG), which has been shown to have antifungal and antibacterial effects (10), and cannabinol CBN, which has antispasmodic properties and may be therapeutic in the treatment of burns (11,12).

Terpenes

Terpenes are different chemical compounds that are mostly formed by plants as so-called secondary metabolites. They are the main components of essential oils that give cannabis its unique, unmistakable smell. Some are used as food additives, while others have been shown to have psychoactive effects. Interestingly, terpenes share a chemical precursor with cannabinoids. The combination of cannabinoids and terpenes may be therapeutically beneficial, according to evidence in the literature(13). Over 100 terpenes have been found in cannabis, such as myrcene, the most abundant terpene, as well as limonene, known for its citrus-like smell, and linalool, which gives off a floral smell. The combination of different terpenes provides the unique aromas of the various medical cannabis strains.(14)

When combined with the cannabinoids, terpenes can lead to synergistic effects and interactions that have been speculated about for several decades. This phytocannabinoid-terpene synergy, commonly referred to as the “entourage effect”, could increase the functionality of cannabis’ medical properties and possibly its potency.(15)

What strains of medical cannabis are available in dispensaries?

Despite the wide variety of medical cannabis strains, there are generally 3 categories into which strains can be divided:

  • High THC and low CBD strains (e.g. 10-30% THC, traces of CBD).
  • Varieties with high CBD and low THC content (e.g. 5-20% CBD, THC below 5%).
  • Varieties with a balanced CBD and THC ratio (e.g. 5-15% THC and 5-15% CBD).

Medical cannabis strains with high THC and low CBD include White Lemon, White Widow and Hindu Kush. High CBD, low THC strains include God Bud and Cannatonic. Varieties with a balanced CBD and THC ratio, sometimes called 1:1 varieties, include Equiposa and Warlock CBD.(16,17)

Which medical cannabis strain is suitable for whom?

Which strains of cannabis are most suitable for medical use depends on the chemical composition of the plant and the patient’s condition. The cannabinoid and terpene profiles are most useful as a classification to differentiate between the hundreds, possibly thousands, of cannabis varieties. Ultimately, the decision as to which strain is most beneficial and should therefore be used always rests with the treating physician.

 

1.           Gloss D. An Overview of Products and Bias in Research. Neurotherapeutics. 2015 Oct;12(4):731–4.

2.           Explore marijuana strains for 4/20 [Internet]. Leafly. [cited 2021 Apr 26]. Available from: https://www.leafly.com/strains/lists

3.           Brickell CD, Alexander C, David J, Hetterscheid W, Leslie AC, Malécot V, et al. International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants. 8th edition. [Scripta Horticulturae 10]. Vol. 151, Regnum Vegetabile. 2009.

4.           Hazekamp A, Fischedick JT. Cannabis – from cultivar to chemovar. Drug Test Anal. 2012;4(7–8):660–7.

5.           Mehmedic Z, Chandra S, Slade D, Denham H, Foster S, Patel AS, et al. Potency trends of Δ9-THC and other cannabinoids in confiscated cannabis preparations from 1993 to 2008. J Forensic Sci. 2010 Sep;55(5):1209–17.

6.           Lu H-C, Mackie K. An introduction to the endogenous cannabinoid system. Biol Psychiatry. 2016 Apr 1;79(7):516–25.

7.           Schurman LD, Lu D, Kendall DA, Howlett AC, Lichtman AH. Molecular Mechanism and Cannabinoid Pharmacology. Handb Exp Pharmacol. 2020;258:323–53.

8.           Davis WM, Hatoum NS. Neurobehavioral actions of cannabichromene and interactions with delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. Gen Pharmacol. 1983;14(2):247–52.

9.           El-Alfy AT, Ivey K, Robinson K, Ahmed S, Radwan M, Slade D, et al. Antidepressant-like effect of delta9-tetrahydrocannabinol and other cannabinoids isolated from Cannabis sativa L. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2010 Jun;95(4):434–42.

10.         Nachnani R, Raup-Konsavage WM, Vrana KE. The Pharmacological Case for Cannabigerol. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2021 Feb;376(2):204–12.

11.         Qin N, Neeper MP, Liu Y, Hutchinson TL, Lubin ML, Flores CM. TRPV2 is activated by cannabidiol and mediates CGRP release in cultured rat dorsal root ganglion neurons. J Neurosci Off J Soc Neurosci. 2008 Jun 11;28(24):6231–8.

12.         Turner CE, Elsohly MA, Boeren EG. Constituents of Cannabis sativa L. XVII. A review of the natural constituents. J Nat Prod. 1980 Apr;43(2):169–234.

13.         Russo EB. Taming THC: potential cannabis synergy and phytocannabinoid-terpenoid entourage effects. Br J Pharmacol. 2011 Aug;163(7):1344–64.

14.         Sommano SR, Chittasupho C, Ruksiriwanich W, Jantrawut P. The Cannabis Terpenes. Molecules [Internet]. 2020 Dec 8 [cited 2021 Apr 26];25(24). Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7763918/

15.         Ferber SG, Namdar D, Hen-Shoval D, Eger G, Koltai H, Shoval G, et al. The “Entourage Effect”: Terpenes Coupled with Cannabinoids for the Treatment of Mood Disorders and Anxiety Disorders. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2020 Feb;18(2):87–96.

16.         Cannabis Apotheke® – informieren, reservieren, bestellen [Internet]. [cited 2021 Jul 7]. Available from: https://cannabis-apotheke.de/

17.         Cannabis-Blüten Versorgung [Internet]. [cited 2021 Jul 7]. Available from: https://www.marien-apotheke-siegsdorf.de/unser-service/cannabis-als-arzneimittel.html

nach oben
mghealth.com coliquio.de coliquio.de tsv1860.de

Medizinische Cannabis-Sorten

Vielen ist bekannt, dass medizinisches Cannabis ein Arzneimittel ist, das bei zahlreichen Erkrankungen eingesetzt werden kann. Weniger bekannt ist jedoch, dass es verschiedene Sorten von medizinischem Cannabis gibt, die unterschiedlich wirken und dadurch bei unterschiedlichen Erkrankungen eingesetzt werden können. Etwa 700 Varietäten sind benannt und beschrieben worden (1). Welche Cannabis-Sorte für einen Patienten am besten geeignet ist, hängt von Faktoren wie dem Cannabinoid- und Terpenprofil der Sorte und der zu behandelnden Erkrankung ab.

Was ist eine medizinische Cannabis-Sorte?

Eine Cannabis-Sorte kann entweder als eine reine oder hybride Variante einer Pflanze aus der Pflanzengattung Cannabis definiert werden, die landläufig in die Arten Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica und Cannabis ruderalis eingeteilt wird. Auch wenn bereits etwa 700 Varietäten beschrieben worden sind, wird die Gesamtzahl kontrovers diskutiert (1). Hybride Sorten, die über mehrere Generationen gezüchtet und stabilisiert werden, können dabei zu einer eigenen neuen Sorte werden. Daher schätzen einige Datenbanken, dass die Gesamtzahl der Sorten bis zu 3.600 betragen könnte (2). Die gemeinhin verwendeten Begriffe “Sorte” und “Varietät” sind nicht die genauesten, in den botanischen Wissenschaften wird daher eher der Begriff “Kultivar” verwendet (3).

Vielleicht haben Sie auch schon gehört, dass die Namen Sativa, Indica und Hybrid als Klassifizierungssystem verwendet werden, um die Wirkung von Cannabis-Sorten zu beschreiben. Sativa-Sorten wird nachgesagt, dass sie belebend und energetisierend seien und helfen würden, die Kreativität und den Fokus zu steigern, während Indica-Sorten typischerweise mit eher körperlichen Effekten in Verbindung gebracht werden, wie z.B. der Steigerung der Tiefenentspannung und der Verringerung von Schlaflosigkeit. Hybriden Sorten schreibt man eine Mischung aus beidem zu. Diese Klassifizierung wird jedoch im Allgemeinen von den wissenschaftlichen Fachkreisen nicht akzeptiert, da dieses Klassifizierungssystem, abgesehen von den Hinweisen auf die physikalischen Eigenschaften und Physiologie einer Pflanze, nicht sehr hilfreich in Bezug auf die chemische Zusammensetzung ist. Es gibt derzeit keine identifizierbaren biochemischen Merkmale, die eine Einteilung in Indica, Sativa und Hybrid unterstützen würden. Ein zuverlässigeres Klassifizierungssystem ist das Cannabinoid und Terpen Profil.(4)

Cannabinoide

Cannabinoide, in diesem Fall auch bezeichnet als Phytocannabinoide, also Cannabinoide pflanzlichen Ursprungs, sind eine breite Gruppe von Wirkstoffen in Cannabis, die unterschiedliche chemische Strukturen und pharmakologische Funktionen haben. Sie werden hauptsächlich in den Drüsentrichomen der Pflanze produziert. Bisher sind etwa 120 identifiziert und beschrieben (5). Diese Cannabinoide sind den körpereigenen Endocannabinoiden chemisch ähnlich, was es ihnen ermöglicht, mit den Rezeptoren des Endocannabinoid-Systems (ECS) zu interagieren. Das ECS ist ein Nervenzellen modulierendes System, das eine wichtige Rolle bei der Übertragung von Signalen zwischen Zellen und im zentralen Nervensystem spielt. Dazu gehören CB1– und CB2-Rezeptoren, die im Körper bzw. in Immunzellen zu finden sind (6). Die beiden bekanntesten und am besten erforschten Cannabinoide sind THC und CBD, aber auch andere Cannabinoide werden derzeit auf ihre einzigartigen Wirkungen untersucht.

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC)

Δ-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol, auch bekannt als THC und Dronabinol, ist die Hauptquelle der psychotropen Effekte, die mit dem Cannabiskonsum verbunden sind (7). Es bindet an die CB1– und CB2-Rezeptoren des Endocannabinoid-Systems, und kann dadurch neben anderen Effekten den Appetit anregen und die Muskulatur entspannen. 

Cannabidiol (CBD)

CBD, Cannabidiol, ist dagegen nicht psychoaktiv und sein biologischer Wirkmechanismus nicht vollständig geklärt. Trotz seiner geringen Affinität zu CB1– und CB2-Rezeptoren wurde gezeigt, dass CBD die Wirkung von THC durch Antagonisierung dieser Rezeptoren beeinflussen und dadurch Nebenwirkungen von THC reduzieren kann (7). Die Liste der Beschwerden, bei denen CBD helfen kann, wird immer länger. Jedoch ist noch weitere Forschung nötig, um die Wirksamkeit und die Bandbreite der Vorteile von CBD besser zu verstehen.

Weitere Cannabinoide

Neben CBD und THC gibt es weitere Cannabinoide, die in letzter Zeit aufgrund ihrer besonderen Eigenschaften von Wissenschaftlern genauer unter die Lupe genommen wurden. Dazu gehören CBC, Cannabichromen, das antidepressive und schmerzlindernde Wirkungen zu haben scheint (8,9), CBG, Cannabigerol, das nachweislich antimykotische und antibakterielle Wirkungen besitzt (10), und CBN, Cannabinol, das krampflösende Eigenschaften hat und möglicherweise bei der Behandlung von Verbrennungen therapeutisch einsetzbar ist (11,12).

Terpene

Bei den Terpenen handelt es sich um unterschiedliche chemische Verbindungen, die meist von Pflanzen als sogenannte sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe gebildet werden. Sie sind die Hauptbestandteile von ätherischen Ölen, die etwa Cannabis seinen einzigartigen, unverwechselbaren Geruch verleihen. Einige werden als Lebensmittelzusatzstoffe genutzt, während andere nachweislich eine psychoaktive Wirkung haben. Interessanterweise teilen sich Terpene einen chemischen Vorläufer mit Cannabinoiden. Die Kombination aus Cannabinoiden und Terpenen kann nach Hinweisen aus der Literatur therapeutische vorteilhaft sein(13). Über 100 Terpene wurden in Cannabis gefunden, wie z.B. Myrcen, das am häufigsten vorkommende Terpen, sowie Limonen, bekannt für seinen zitrusartigen Geruch, und Linalool, das einen blumigen Geruch verbreitet. Die Kombination verschiedener Terpene sorgt für die einzigartigen Aromen der verschiedenen medizinischen Cannabis-Sorten.(14)

Kombiniert mit den Cannabinoiden entfalten Terpene synergetische Effekte und Wechselwirkungen, über die seit einigen Jahrzehnten spekuliert wird. Diese Phytocannabinoid-Terpen-Synergie, die gemeinhin als „Entourage-Effekt“ bezeichnet werden, könnte die Funktionalität der medizinischen Eigenschaften von Cannabis und möglicherweise auch seine Wirksamkeit erhöhen.(15)

Welche medizinischen Cannabis-Sorten gibt es in der Apotheke?

Trotz der großen Vielfalt an medizinischen Cannabis-Sorten gibt es im Allgemeinen 3 Kategorien, in die die Sorten eingeteilt werden können:

  • Sorten mit hohem THC- und niedrigem CBD-Gehalt (z.B. 10-30% THC, Spuren von CBD)
  • Sorten mit hohem CBD- und niedrigem THC-Gehalt (z. B. 5-20% CBD, THC unter 5%)
  • Sorten mit ausgeglichenem CBD- und THC-Verhältnis (z. B. 5-15% THC und 5-15% CBD)

Zu den medizinischen Cannabis-Sorten mit hohem THC- und niedrigem CBD-Gehalt gehören White Lemon, White Widow und Hindu Kush. Zu den Sorten mit hohem CBD- und niedrigem THC-Gehalt gehören God Bud und Cannatonic. Zu den Sorten mit einem ausgewogenen CBD- und THC-Verhältnis, manchmal auch 1:1-Sorten genannt, gehören Equiposa und Warlock CBD.(16,17)

Welche medizinische Cannabis-Sorte ist für wen geeignet?

Welche Sorten von Cannabis für die medizinische Verwendung am besten geeignet sind, hängt von der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Pflanze und der zu behandelnden Erkrankung des Patienten ab. Die Cannabinoid- und Terpenprofile eignen sich am ehesten als Klassifizierung, um zwischen den Hunderten, möglicherweise Tausenden von Cannabis-Sorten zu differenzieren. Letztendlich liegt die Entscheidung, welche Sorte am vorteilhaftesten ist und daher zur Anwendung kommen soll, immer beim behandelnden Arzt.

 

1.           Gloss D. An Overview of Products and Bias in Research. Neurotherapeutics. 2015 Oct;12(4):731–4.

2.           Explore marijuana strains for 4/20 [Internet]. Leafly. [cited 2021 Apr 26]. Available from: https://www.leafly.com/strains/lists

3.           Brickell CD, Alexander C, David J, Hetterscheid W, Leslie AC, Malécot V, et al. International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants. 8th edition. [Scripta Horticulturae 10]. Vol. 151, Regnum Vegetabile. 2009.

4.           Hazekamp A, Fischedick JT. Cannabis – from cultivar to chemovar. Drug Test Anal. 2012;4(7–8):660–7.

5.           Mehmedic Z, Chandra S, Slade D, Denham H, Foster S, Patel AS, et al. Potency trends of Δ9-THC and other cannabinoids in confiscated cannabis preparations from 1993 to 2008. J Forensic Sci. 2010 Sep;55(5):1209–17.

6.           Lu H-C, Mackie K. An introduction to the endogenous cannabinoid system. Biol Psychiatry. 2016 Apr 1;79(7):516–25.

7.           Schurman LD, Lu D, Kendall DA, Howlett AC, Lichtman AH. Molecular Mechanism and Cannabinoid Pharmacology. Handb Exp Pharmacol. 2020;258:323–53.

8.           Davis WM, Hatoum NS. Neurobehavioral actions of cannabichromene and interactions with delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. Gen Pharmacol. 1983;14(2):247–52.

9.           El-Alfy AT, Ivey K, Robinson K, Ahmed S, Radwan M, Slade D, et al. Antidepressant-like effect of delta9-tetrahydrocannabinol and other cannabinoids isolated from Cannabis sativa L. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2010 Jun;95(4):434–42.

10.         Nachnani R, Raup-Konsavage WM, Vrana KE. The Pharmacological Case for Cannabigerol. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2021 Feb;376(2):204–12.

11.         Qin N, Neeper MP, Liu Y, Hutchinson TL, Lubin ML, Flores CM. TRPV2 is activated by cannabidiol and mediates CGRP release in cultured rat dorsal root ganglion neurons. J Neurosci Off J Soc Neurosci. 2008 Jun 11;28(24):6231–8.

12.         Turner CE, Elsohly MA, Boeren EG. Constituents of Cannabis sativa L. XVII. A review of the natural constituents. J Nat Prod. 1980 Apr;43(2):169–234.

13.         Russo EB. Taming THC: potential cannabis synergy and phytocannabinoid-terpenoid entourage effects. Br J Pharmacol. 2011 Aug;163(7):1344–64.

14.         Sommano SR, Chittasupho C, Ruksiriwanich W, Jantrawut P. The Cannabis Terpenes. Molecules [Internet]. 2020 Dec 8 [cited 2021 Apr 26];25(24). Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7763918/

15.         Ferber SG, Namdar D, Hen-Shoval D, Eger G, Koltai H, Shoval G, et al. The “Entourage Effect”: Terpenes Coupled with Cannabinoids for the Treatment of Mood Disorders and Anxiety Disorders. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2020 Feb;18(2):87–96.

16.         Cannabis Apotheke® – informieren, reservieren, bestellen [Internet]. [cited 2021 Jul 7]. Available from: https://cannabis-apotheke.de/

17.         Cannabis-Blüten Versorgung [Internet]. [cited 2021 Jul 7]. Available from: https://www.marien-apotheke-siegsdorf.de/unser-service/cannabis-als-arzneimittel.html

Alhasan Abdulghani info@drapalin.de
Alhasan Abdulghani 02/12/2021
How to buy medicinal cannabis in Germany?
Since the “Cannabis as Medicine” law came into force on March 10, 2017, the prescription of cannabis for therapeutic purposes has been legal in Germany. With the guidance of a doctor, patients can obtain a prescription for medicinal cannabis and thus receive and use medicinal cannabis in various forms.
Continue reading