Back To Top

MEDICAL CANNABIS

History of the medicinal use of cannabis

Cannabis is probably one of the oldest cultivated plants of mankind. Thus, its use as a medicinal plant for therapeutic purposes is also anchored early in history. Documented evidence of both psychotropic and therapeutic uses goes back as far as 5000 years.

LEGAL SITUATION
IN GERMANY

Prehistory

Although cannabis was used as a medicinal plant early in history, acceptance of cannabis-based medicines was lacking for a long time.

Since 2007, patients could submit an exemption permit to the Federal Opium Agency. However, this permit was only approved in exceptional cases and any treatment costs incurred had to be borne by the patients themselves.

Over the years, however, the open-mindedness towards the use of cannabis for medical purposes increased and the therapeutic potential became more and more the focus of new research approaches.

A corresponding draft law of the German government in 2016 paved the way for the legalization of cannabis as a therapeutic option.

Current legal situation

On January 19, 2017, the amendment to the law was passed and came into force on March 10, 2017. This amendment mainly affected both the German Narcotic Drugs Act, the Narcotic Drugs Prescription Ordinance, and Volume V of the German Social Insurance Code.

Specifically, this resulted in the following innovations:

  • Cannabis flowers as well as extracts can be prescribed for therapeutic purposes. This means that the previously required application for an exemption at the Federal Opium Agency is no longer necessary.
  • Every practicing physician, with the exception of dentists and veterinarians, can prescribe Cannabis-based medicinal products in pharmaceutical quality on a narcotic prescription.
  • The treatment costs are covered by health insurance companies if certain requirements are met.

Thus, the legalization of medical cannabis for therapeutic purposes opens up new possibilities for health care in Germany.

CANNABIS VARIETIES

Botany of Cannabis sativa L.

The botanical genus Cannabis belongs to the hemp family (Cannabaceae). From a scientific point of view, the genus Cannabis includes only one species:
Cannabis sativa L. However, a division into three cannabis species is often found:

Cannabis indica
Cannabis sativa
Cannabis ruderalis

Cannabis sativa and Cannabis indica are used today in various hybrid breedings to generate different chemotypes. These have either a high THC and low CBD content, or vice versa, a high CBD and low THC content. The third chemotype is an intermediate form with balanced concentrations of THC and CBD.

Although these varieties differ in their THC and CBD content, their distinction is not based on this parameter alone. Rather, the overall composition of cannabinoids and terpenes and the resulting chemical profile serve to characterize them.

A further distinction is also made between (medicinal) cannabis and the so-called fiber hemp or industrial hemp (often referred to as commercial hemp). By definition, fiber hemp contains no more than 0.2% THC. As the name suggests, this form is used in particular for the extraction of hemp fibers. Its seeds are also used for food (e.g. hemp oil) and cosmetics.

In gerenal, there are both male and female cannabis plants. For medicinal purposes, mainly the flowers of the female plant are used due to the higher cannabinoids content.

ENDOCANNABINOID SYSTEM

The endocannabinoid system (ECS) is a biological system of our body that can interact with endogenous cannabinoids to regulate vital processes. However, this interaction is not limited to endocannabinoids: plant cannabinoids, known as phytocannabinoids, can also interact with this system. The ECS is thus the biological basis for externally supplied cannabinoids to exert their effects in our bodies.

Essentially, the endocannabinoid system (ECS) consists of three components:

  • endogenous cannabinoids such as anandamide (N- arachidonylethanolamide, AEA) and 2- arachidonylglycerol (2-AG).
  • anabolic and catabolic enzymes for synthesis and degradation of cannabinoids
  • specific cannabinoid receptors (CB1 and CB2 receptors).

The ECS mainly takes an essential role in the modulation of neuronal activities but also in the regulation of the functioning of various other organs. Numerous neurological dysfunctions are associated with dysregulation of this complex network, which is why the ECS is increasingly becoming the focus of medical treatment approaches.

Cannabis plant-derived phytocannabinoids, such as Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD), can attach to CB1 and CB2 receptors in a analogous manner to endogenous cannabinoids thereby intercepting and counteracting potential dysregulation of the ECS.

CB1 receptors are particularly abundant in the central nervous system, where they are among the most common G-protein coupled receptors. In addition to the nervous system, the ECS is also associated with the immune system. Here, CB2 receptors in particular play an essential role, occurring on immune cells such as T and B lymphocytes and macrophages, as well as on hematopoietic cells.

The general mechanism of action of ECS in the neuronal context is to modulate neurotransmitter activity and reduce excessive responses. The inhibitory effect is based on the activation of cannabinoid receptors on neurons through binding of endocannabinoids. Endocannabinoids, unlike most other neurotransmitters, are not produced acutely by the upstream presynaptic neuron, but permanently by the downstream postsynaptic neuron.

If the concentration of other neurotransmitters in the synaptic cleft between two neurons is particularly high, endocannabinoids are increasingly produced at the postsynapse and released into the synaptic cleft. At the presynapse, they bind to the cannabinoid receptors expressed there, which are then activated and trigger a signaling cascade that reduces the excessive neurotransmitter activity on the presynaptic side (retrograde inhibition).

Recent scientific findings have proven that endocannabinoids also affect our digestive tract via the so-called gut-brain axis. This interaction leads to the fact that the ECS also exerts a decisive influence on the control of nausea and vomiting.

The complete elucidation of the exact functioning of the ECS is currently the subject of numerous research projects. However, ECS and thus the medical application of phytocannabinoids is already proving to be a promising concept of novel therapeutic approaches for various neuronal and chronic diseases.

INGREDIENTS AND ACTIVE SUBSTANCES

Cannabis sativa L. accumulates its characteristic constituents such as terpenes and cannabinoids not in intracellular vacuoles (cell organelles filled with cell sap), but in fine glandular hairs called trichomes. These are found in particularly high density on the flowers of female cannabis plants.

Terpenes

Terpenes are volatile hydrocarbons that form the largest group of organic compounds in plants. They determine the characteristic smell and taste of a plant and are therefore the most important component in essential oils. More than 200 terpenes have been described in cannabis so far.

Accordingly, there is a huge variety of different aromas but also of different pharmacological effects. The individual composition of the terpenes, also called terpene profile, contributes to the characteristic chemotype of the respective cannabis variety.

Phytocannabinoids

Phytocannabinoids are bioactive plant substances found in various flowering plants, but also in fungi. Over 100 cannabinoids are known to date for the cannabis plant.

Cannabinoids are formed from their respective precursors, the cannabinoid acids, which occur in high concentrations in living as well as in fresh plant tissue. The neutral cannabinoids are formed from the cannabinoid acids by decarboxylation. This metabolization is induced by factors such as UV light, heat (e.g. during smoking or vaporization), or prolonged storage.

Δ9-THC

Δ9-THC (Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol, THC) is probably the best known phytocannabinoid and is responsible for the psychotropic effects of Cannabis sativa L.. THC is a partial agonist of both CB1 and CB2 receptors. This means that the binding of THC to these receptors, preferentially to the CB1 receptors, triggers an activating signal that is ultimately responsible for the psychoactive effect of this phytocannabinoid. From a scientific point of view, THC is probably the most extensively studied phytocannabinoid. In particular, its analgesic and anti-inflammatory properties are well documented in the context of numerous acute and chronic diseases.

CBD

CBD (cannabidiol) is the best known representative of the non-psychotropic phytocannabinoids of the cannabis plant. CBD acts as an antagonist of endogenous cannabinoid receptors. This means that CBD attaches to CB1 and CB2 receptors and thereby blocks them. Even though this attaching to the receptors occurs with comparatively low affinity, this inhibitory mechanism of action gives CBD the property to mitigate some undesirable side effects of THC. Pre-clinical studies particularly demonstrate the anti-inflammatory properties of this phytocannabinoid. Further studies complement these results with possible immunosuppressive and neuroprotective properties.

CBG

CBG (cannabigerol) is another non-psychoactive cannabinoid that is found in larger amounts mainly in low-THC cannabis plants. It is a partial agonist of CB1 and CB2 receptors and binds to them with low affinity. In addition to its anti-inflammatory properties, CBG has been recognized to have an anti-depressant effect. Promising data obtained in animal models also suggest an anti-bacterial effect of CBG.

CBC

CBC (cannabichromene) also belongs to the non-psychoactive cannabinoids. In addition to analgesic, sedative, and anti-inflammatory properties, CBC, like CBG, shows promising effects as an anti-microbial agent. Moreover, initial studies revealed first evidences that CBC may have an inhibitory effect on tumor growth, thus gaining increasing attention in cancer research.

CBN

CBN (cannabinol) is present in fresh cannabis only in small amounts, as it is a product of THC oxidation. This reaction occurs mainly when THC is exposed to oxygen, heat or light for long periods of time. CBN is characterized not only by its general anti-inflammatory and pain-relieving properties, but also by its sedative effect.

Δ9-THCV

Δ9-THCV (Δ9-tetrahydrocannabivarin, THCV) is a propyl analog of THC. THCV can also attach to CB1 and CB2 receptors. For CB2 receptors, it has been described as a partial agonist with activating effects. However, at CB1 receptors, attaching induces different signals depending on the concentration: at low concentrations, THCV acts as an antagonist and has a blocking effect. At higher concentrations, however, it triggers several signal cascades, resulting in a psychotropic effect similar to THC. In low amounts, however, it reduces the psychoactive effect of THC. Various studies also suggest anti-inflammatory and anticonvulsant properties of THCV.

Various pre-clinical studies provide evidence that cannabinoids enhance each other’s biological activity, but also in combination with other herbal ingredients such as terpenes. This principle is referred to as the entourage or synergy effect.

Pharmacokinetics and bioavailability of cannabinoids

The term pharmacokinetics describes the entirety of processes in the body to which a drug is subjected to: starting with absorption, distribution throughout the body, metabolization and then finally excretion.

The root of administration of a drug has a decisive influence on its pharmacokinetics and thus ultimately on the availability of the active ingredients in the body (bioavailability).

K.R. Müller-Vahl, F. Grotenhermen, Cannabis und Cannabinoide in der Medizin, 2019, Medizinisch WissenschafIiche Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG, ISBN: 978-3-95466-424-5.

F. Grotenhermen, K. Häußermann, Cannabis – Versorgungshilfe für Ärzte, 2019, WissenschafIiche Verlagsgesellschaft Stuttgart, ISBN: 978-3-8047-3965-9.

E. B. Russo, “History of cannabis and its preparations in saga, science, and sobriquet,” Chem. Biodivers., vol. 4, no. 8, pp. 1614–1648, 2007, doi: 10.1002/cbdv.200790144.

E. B. Russo, “The Pharmacological History of Cannabis,” Handb. Cannabis, no. February, pp. 23–43, 2015, doi: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199662685.003.0002.

D. Friedman and J. I. Sirven, “Historical perspective on the medical use of cannabis for epilepsy: Ancient times to the 1980s,” Epilepsy Behav., vol. 70, pp. 298–301, 2017, doi: 10.1016/j.yebeh.2016.11.033.

J. M. McPartland, “Cannabis Systematics at the Levels of Family, Genus, and Species,” Cannabis Cannabinoid Res., vol. 3, no. 1, pp. 203–212, 2018, doi: 10.1089/can.2018.0039.

L. Laursen, “Botany: The cultivation of weed,” Nature, vol. 525, no. 7570, pp. S4–S5, 2015, doi: 10.1038/525S4a.

D. Pacifico, F. Miselli, A. Carboni, A. Moschella, and G. Mandolino, “Time course of cannabinoid accumulation and chemotype development during the growth of Cannabis sativa L,” Euphytica, vol. 160, no. 2, pp. 231–240, 2008, doi: 10.1007/s10681-007-9543-y.

O. Aizpurua-Olaizola et al., “Evolution of the Cannabinoid and Terpene Content during the Growth of Cannabis sativa Plants from Different Chemotypes,” J. Nat. Prod., vol. 79, no. 2, pp. 324–331, 2016, doi: 10.1021/acs.jnatprod.5b00949.

K. A. Sharkey and J. W. Wiley, “The Role of the Endocannabinoid System in the Brain–Gut Axis,” Gastroenterology, vol. 151, no. 2, pp. 252–266, 2016, doi: 10.1053/j.gastro.2016.04.015.

J. K. Booth and J. Bohlmann, “Terpenes in Cannabis sativa – From plant genome to humans,” Plant Sci., vol. 284, no. March, pp. 67–72, 2019, doi: 10.1016/j.plantsci.2019.03.022.

T. Gülck and B. L. Møller, “Phytocannabinoids: Origins and Biosynthesis,” Trends Plant Sci., vol. 25, no. 10, pp. 985–1004, 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.tplants.2020.05.005.

Z. H. Maayah, S. Takahara, M. Ferdaoussi, and J. R. B. Dyck, “The molecular mechanisms that underpin the biological benefits of full-spectrum cannabis extract in the treatment of neuropathic pain and inflammation,” Biochim. Biophys. Acta – Mol. Basis Dis., vol. 1866, no. 7, p. 165771, 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.bbadis.2020.165771.

E. B. Russo, “Taming THC: Potential cannabis synergy and phytocannabinoid-terpenoid entourage effects,” Br. J. Pharmacol., vol. 163, no. 7, pp. 1344–1364, 2011, doi: 10.1111/j.1476-5381.2011.01238.x.

A. A. Izzo, F. Borrelli, R. Capasso, V. Di Marzo, and R. Mechoulam, “Non-psychotropic plant cannabinoids: new therapeutic opportunities from an ancient herb,” Trends Pharmacol. Sci., vol. 30, no. 10, pp. 515–527, 2009, doi: 10.1016/j.tips.2009.07.006.

preloader
nach oben

Сannabis Legalisierung & Sorten in Deutschland

Geschichte der medizinischen Verwendung von Cannabis

Cannabis ist vermutlich eine der ältesten Kulturpflanzen der Menschheit. So ist auch deren Verwendung als Heilpflanze für therapeutische Zwecke früh in der Geschichte verankert. Dokumentierte Hinweise über sowohl psychotrope als auch therapeutische Nutzungen gehen dabei bis zu 5000 Jahre zurück.

LEGALISERUNG VON
MEDIZINALCANNABIS IN DEUTSCHLAND

Vorgeschichte

Obwohl Cannabis in der Geschichte schon früh als Heilpflanze verwendet wurde, fehlte lange Zeit die Akzeptanz Cannabis-basierter Medikamente.

Seit 2007 konnten Patienten eine Ausnahmeerlaubnis bei der Bundesopiumstelle einreichen. Die Genehmigung dieser Erlaubnis erfolgte allerdings nur in Ausnahmefällen und entstehende Behandlungskosten mussten von den Patienten selbst getragen werden.

Im Laufe der Jahre nahm das Interesse gegenüber der Verwendung von Cannabis zu medizinischen Zwecken immer mehr zu und das therapeutische Potential rückte mehr und mehr in den Fokus neuer Forschungsansätze.

Ein entsprechender Gesetzesentwurf der Bundesregierung aus dem Jahr 2016 bereitete den Weg für die Legalisierung von Cannabis als Therapieoption.

Aktuelle gesetzliche Lage

Am 19. Januar 2017 wurde das Gesetz zur Legalisierung von Cannabis für den medizinischen Gebrauch beschlossen und trat am 10. März 2017 in Kraft. Die Änderung betraf sowohl das Betäubungsmittelgesetz und die Betäubungsmittel-Verschreibungsverordnung als auch das Fünfte Buch des Sozialgesetzbuches.

Konkret haben sich dadurch folgende Neuerungen ergeben:

  • Cannabisblüten sowie daraus hergestellte Extrakte dürfen zu therapeutischen Zwecken verschrieben werden. Damit entfällt der zuvor erforderliche Antrag auf Ausnahmeerlaubnis bei der Bundesopiumstelle.
  • Jeder niedergelassene Arzt kann Blüten und Extrakte in pharmazeutischer Qualität auf einem Betäubungsmittelrezept verschreiben. Zahnärzte und Tierärzte dürfen dagegen kein Cannabis verschreiben.
  • Die Kosten für die Behandlung werden bei Erfüllung bestimmter Vorgaben von den Krankenkassen übernommen

Damit eröffnet die Legalisierung von medizinischem Cannabis zu therapeutischen Zwecken neue Möglichkeiten der gesundheitlichen Versorgung der Bevölkerung in Deutschland.

MEDIZINISCHES CANNABIS SORTEN

Botanik von Cannabis sativa L.

Die botanische Gattung Cannabis gehört zur Familie der Hanfgewächse (Cannabaceae). Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht umfasst die Gattung Cannabis nur eine Art:
Cannabis sativa L. Oftmals ist jedoch auch eine Aufteilung in drei Cannabisarten zu finden:

Cannabis indica
Cannabis sativa
Cannabis ruderalis

Verschiedene Hybridisierungen aus Cannabis sativa und Cannabis indica werden heute genutzt, um Sorten verschiedenen Chemotyps zu generieren. Diese weisen entweder einen hohen THC- und niedrigen CBD-Gehalt, oder umgekehrt, einen hohen CBD-Gehalt und niedrigen THC-Gehalt auf. Der dritte Chemotyp ist eine intermediäre Form mit etwa gleichen Anteilen an THC und CBD.

Auch wenn sich diese Sorten in ihrem THC- und CBD-Gehalt unterscheiden, ist ihre Unterteilung nicht allein darauf zurückzuführen. Vielmehr dient zur Charakterisierung der Sorten die Gesamtzusammensetzung aus Cannabinoiden und Terpenen und das sich daraus ergebende chemische Profil.

Eine weitere Unterscheidung wird zudem zwischen medizinischem Cannabis (Medizinalcannabis) bzw. dem Rauschmittel und dem sogenannten Faserhanf oder Industriehanf (oft als Nutzhanf bezeichnet) getroffen. Faserhanf enthält dabei per Definition nicht mehr als maximal 0.2 % THC. Wie der Name schon andeutet, wird dieser insbesondere zur Gewinnung von Hanffasern verwendet. Deren Samen werden zudem unter anderem für Lebensmittel (z.B. Hanföl) und Kosmetika eingesetzt.

Es gibt sowohl männliche als auch weibliche Pflanzen. Für medizinische Zwecke werden aufgrund der höheren Menge an Cannabinoiden hauptsächlich die Blüten der weiblichen Pflanze verwendet. Die Wahl der jeweiligen Cannabis Sorten für die medizinische Verwendung hängt von der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Pflanze und der zu behandelnden Indikation des Patienten ab. Ein Überblick über aktuelle medizinische Cannabis Sorten ist unter anderem auf der Homepage verschiedener Apotheken und Cannabis-Verbänden zu finden.

ENDOCANNABINOID SYSTEM

Das Endocannabinoidsystem (ECS) ist ein biologisches System unseres Körpers, welches mit körpereigenen (endogenen) Cannabinoiden interagieren kann und so lebenswichtige Prozesse reguliert. Diese Interaktion ist allerdings nicht nur auf Endocannabinoide begrenzt: auch pflanzliche Cannabinoide, sogenannte Phytocannabinoide, können mit diesem System wechselwirken. Das ECS ist somit die biologische Grundlage dafür, dass extern zugeführte Cannabinoide ihre Wirkung in unserem Körper entfalten können.

Im Wesentlichen besteht das Endocannabinoidsystem (ECS) aus drei Komponenten:

  • körpereigene endogene Cannabinoide wie Anandamid (N- Arachidonylethanolamid, AEA) und 2- Arachidonylglycerol (2-AG)
  • anabolische und katabolische Enzyme für Synthese und Abbau der Cannabinoide
  • spezifische Rezeptoren der Cannabinoide (CB1-und CB2-Rezeptoren)

Das ECS nimmt vor allem eine essenzielle Rolle in der Modulation neuronaler Aktivitäten aber auch in der Regulierung der Funktionsweise verschiedener weiterer Organe ein. Zahlreiche neurologische Dysfunktionen sind mit einer Fehlregulation dieses komplexen Netzwerks verbunden, weshalb das ECS immer mehr in den Fokus medizinischer Behandlungsansätze rückt.

Die aus Cannabispflanzen gewonnenen Phytocannabinoide, wie Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) und Cannabidiol (CBD), können analog zu körpereigenen Cannabinoiden an CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren binden und mögliche Fehlregulationen des ECS auffangen und ihnen entgegenwirken.

CB1-Rezeptoren kommen insbesondere im zentralen Nervensystem vor und zählen dort zu den häufigsten G-Protein gekoppelten Rezeptoren. Zusätzlich zum Nervensystem ist das ECS auch mit dem Immunsystem assoziiert. Hier spielen vor allem CB2-Rezeptoren eine wesentliche Rolle, die auf Immunzellen, wie T- und B-Lymphozyten und Makrophagen, sowie auf blutbildenden Zellen vorkommen.

Der generelle Wirkmechanismus des ECS im neuronalen Kontext besteht darin, die Neurotransmitteraktivität zu modulieren und überschießende Reaktionen zu reduzieren. Die hemmende Wirkung basiert dabei auf der Aktivierung der Cannabinoid-Rezeptoren auf den Nervenzellen durch Bindung der Endocannabinoide. Endocannabinoide werden im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen Neurotransmittern nicht akut von der vorangeschalteten präsynaptischen Nervenzelle, sondern permanent von der nachgeschalteten postsynaptischen Nervenzelle produziert.

Ist die Konzentration anderer Neurotransmitter im synaptischen Spalt zwischen zwei Nervenzellen besonders hoch, werden Endocannabinoide verstärkt an der Postsynapse gebildet und in den synaptischen Spalt abgegeben. An der Präsynapse binden sie an die dort exprimierten Cannabinoid-Rezeptoren, welche daraufhin aktiviert werden und eine Signalkaskade auslösen, die die übermäßige Neurotransmitteraktivität auf präsynaptischer Seite reduziert (retrograde Hemmung).

Neueste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse konnten belegen, dass Endocannabinoide über die sogenannte Darm-Hirn-Achse auch auf unseren Verdauungstrakt wirken. Diese Interaktion führt dazu, dass das ECS auch einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Kontrolle von Übelkeit und Erbrechen ausübt.

Die vollständige Aufklärung der genauen Funktionsweise des ECS ist aktuell Gegenstand zahlreicher Forschungsprojekte. Jedoch erweist sich bereits zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt das ECS und damit die medizinische Anwendung von Phytocannabinoiden als ein vielversprechendes Ziel neuartiger Therapieansätze für verschiedenste neuronale und chronische Erkrankungen.

INHALTS- UND WIRKSTOFFE

Cannabis sativa L. akkumuliert ihre charakteristischen Inhaltsstoffe wie Terpene und Cannabinoide nicht in intrazellulären Vakuolen (mit Zellsaft gefüllte Zellorganellen), sondern in feinen Drüsenhaaren, den sogenannten Trichomen. Diese kommen in besonders hoher Dichte auf den Blüten weiblicher Cannabis-Pflanzen vor.

Terpene

Terpene sind flüchtige Kohlenwasserstoffe und bilden die größte Gruppe organischer Verbindungen in Pflanzen. Sie bestimmen den charakteristischen Geruch und Geschmack einer Pflanze und sind daher die wichtigste Komponente in ätherischen Ölen. Für Cannabis sind mittlerweile über 200 Terpene beschrieben.

Dementsprechend groß ist die Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Aromen aber auch an verschiedenen pharmakologischen Wirkungsmöglichkeiten. Die individuelle Zusammensetzung der Terpene, auch Terpen-Profil genannt, trägt zum charakteristischen Chemotyp der jeweiligen Cannabissorte bei.

Phytocannabinoide

Bei Phytocannabinoiden handelt es sich um bioaktive pflanzliche Stoffe, die in verschiedenen Blütenpflanzen, aber auch in Pilzen vorkommen. Über 100 Cannabinoide sind bislang für die Cannabispflanze bekannt.

Cannabinoide bilden sich aus ihren jeweiligen Vorstufen, den Cannabinoid-Säuren, die in hoher Konzentration in frisch geschnittenem Pflanzengewebe vorkommen. Durch Decarboxylierung entstehen aus den Cannabinoid-Säuren die aktiven Cannabinoide. Diese Metabolisierung wird dabei z.B. durch Faktoren wie UV-Licht, Hitze (etwa beim Rauchen oder Verdampfen), oder längere Lagerung induziert.

Δ9-THC

Δ9-THC (Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol, THC) ist das wohl bekannteste Phytocannabinoid und ist für die psychotrope Wirkung von Cannabis sativa L. verantwortlich. THC ist ein partieller Agonist von sowohl CB1- als auch von CB2-Rezeptoren. Dies bedeutet, dass durch die Bindung von THC an diese Rezeptoren, bevorzugt an die CB1-Rezeptoren, ein aktivierendes Signal ausgelöst wird, welches schlussendlich für die psychoaktive Wirkung dieses Phytocannabinoids verantwortlich ist. Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht ist THC das wohl am umfangreichsten erforschte Phytocannabinoid. Insbesondere seine schmerzlindernden und entzündungshemmenden Eigenschaften sind im Kontext zahlreicher akuter sowie chronischer Erkrankungen gut dokumentiert.

CBD

CBD (Cannabidiol) ist der bekannteste Vertreter der nicht-psychotropen Phytocannabinoide der Cannabispflanze. CBD wirkt als Antagonist endogener Cannabinoid-Rezeptoren. Dies bedeutet, dass CBD an CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren bindet und sie dadurch blockiert. Auch wenn diese Bindung an die Rezeptoren mit vergleichsweise niedriger Affinität erfolgt, verleiht dieser hemmende Wirkmechanismus CBD die Eigenschaft, einige unerwünschte Nebeneffekte von THC zu mildern. Prä-klinische Studien belegen insbesondere die anti-inflammatorischen (entzündungshemmenden) Eigenschaften dieses Phytocannabinoids. Weiterführende Untersuchungen ergänzen diese um mögliche immunsuppressive (Immunantwort unterdrückende) und neuroprotektive (Nerven schützende) Merkmale.

CBG

CBG (Cannabigerol) ist ein weiteres nicht-psychoaktives Cannabinoid, welches in größeren Mengen vor allem in Cannabis-Pflanzen mit niedrigem THC-Gehalt vorkommt. Es ist ein partieller Agonist von CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren und bindet an diese mit niedriger Affinität. Zusätzlich zu seinen entzündungshemmenden Eigenschaften wird CBG eine anti-depressive Wirkung zugeschrieben. Vielversprechende Daten, die in Tiermodellen erhoben wurden, deuten zudem auf eine antibakterielle Wirkung von CBG hin.

CBC

CBC (Cannabichromen) zählt ebenfalls zu den nicht-psychoaktiven Cannabinoiden. Neben den schmerzlindernden, sedativen und anti-inflammatorischen (entzündungshemmenden) Eigenschaften weist CBC, ähnlich wie CBG, als ein vielversprechendes anti-mikrobielles Potential auf. Initiale Studien zeigen zudem vielsprechende Ergebnisse, dass CBC womöglich eine hemme Wirkung auf das Wachstum von Tumoren ausüben kann, weshalb es besonders in der Krebsforschung auf immer mehr Beachtung stößt.

CBN

CBN (Cannabinol) kommt in frischem Cannabis nur in geringer Menge vor, da es ein Produkt der THC-Oxidation ist. Zu dieser Reaktion kommt es vor allem dann, wenn THC Sauerstoff, Hitze oder Licht über längeren Zeitraum ausgesetzt ist. CBN zeichnet sich neben den allgemein Entzündungs- und Schmerz-lindernden Eigenschaften vor allem durch eine sedative Wirkung aus.

Δ9-THCV

Δ9-THCV (Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabivarin, THCV) ist ein Propyl-Analogon von THC. THCV kann ebenfalls an CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren binden. Für CB2-Rezeptoren ist es als partieller Agonist mit aktivierender Wirkung beschrieben. An CB1-Rezeptoren induziert die Bindung in Abhängigkeit von der Konzentration jedoch unterschiedliche Signale: In niedrigen Konzentrationen wirkt THCV als Antagonist und hat eine blockierende Wirkung. Höhere Konzentration lösen jedoch aktivierende Signale aus. Dies hat zur Folge, dass THCV in höheren Konzentrationen ähnlich wie THC eine psychotrope Wirkung hat. In geringen Mengen reduziert es hingegen die psychoaktive Wirkung von THC. Verschiedene Studien lassen auf entzündungshemmende und krampflösende Eigenschaften von THCV schließen.

Verschiedene prä-klinische Studien liefern Hinweise, dass sich Cannabinoide untereinander aber auch in Kombination mit anderen pflanzlichen Inhaltsstoffen wie Terpenen in ihrer biologischen Aktivität verstärken. Dieses Prinzip wird als Entourage- oder auch Synergie-Effekt bezeichnet.

Pharmakokinetik und Bioverfügbarkeit der Cannabinoide

Der Begriff Pharmakokinetik beschreibt die Gesamtheit aller Prozesse im Körper, denen ein Arzneimittel ausgesetzt ist: Beginnend bei der Aufnahme (Resorption) umfasst sie die Verteilung im Körper (Distribution), die Verstoffwechslung (Metabolisierung) sowie schließlich die Ausscheidung (Exkretion).

Die Art der Einnahme des Medikaments entscheidet dabei maßgeblich über die Pharmakokinetik und damit schließlich auch über die Verfügbarkeit der Wirkstoffe im Körper (Bioverfügbarkeit).

K.R. Müller-Vahl, F. Grotenhermen, Cannabis und Cannabinoide in der Medizin, 2019, Medizinisch WissenschafIiche Verlagsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG, ISBN: 978-3-95466-424-5.

F. Grotenhermen, K. Häußermann, Cannabis – Versorgungshilfe für Ärzte, 2019, WissenschafIiche Verlagsgesellschaft Stuttgart, ISBN: 978-3-8047-3965-9.

E. B. Russo, “History of cannabis and its preparations in saga, science, and sobriquet,” Chem. Biodivers., vol. 4, no. 8, pp. 1614–1648, 2007, doi: 10.1002/cbdv.200790144.

E. B. Russo, “The Pharmacological History of Cannabis,” Handb. Cannabis, no. February, pp. 23–43, 2015, doi: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199662685.003.0002.

D. Friedman and J. I. Sirven, “Historical perspective on the medical use of cannabis for epilepsy: Ancient times to the 1980s,” Epilepsy Behav., vol. 70, pp. 298–301, 2017, doi: 10.1016/j.yebeh.2016.11.033.

J. M. McPartland, “Cannabis Systematics at the Levels of Family, Genus, and Species,” Cannabis Cannabinoid Res., vol. 3, no. 1, pp. 203–212, 2018, doi: 10.1089/can.2018.0039.

L. Laursen, “Botany: The cultivation of weed,” Nature, vol. 525, no. 7570, pp. S4–S5, 2015, doi: 10.1038/525S4a.

D. Pacifico, F. Miselli, A. Carboni, A. Moschella, and G. Mandolino, “Time course of cannabinoid accumulation and chemotype development during the growth of Cannabis sativa L,” Euphytica, vol. 160, no. 2, pp. 231–240, 2008, doi: 10.1007/s10681-007-9543-y.

O. Aizpurua-Olaizola et al., “Evolution of the Cannabinoid and Terpene Content during the Growth of Cannabis sativa Plants from Different Chemotypes,” J. Nat. Prod., vol. 79, no. 2, pp. 324–331, 2016, doi: 10.1021/acs.jnatprod.5b00949.

K. A. Sharkey and J. W. Wiley, “The Role of the Endocannabinoid System in the Brain–Gut Axis,” Gastroenterology, vol. 151, no. 2, pp. 252–266, 2016, doi: 10.1053/j.gastro.2016.04.015.

J. K. Booth and J. Bohlmann, “Terpenes in Cannabis sativa – From plant genome to humans,” Plant Sci., vol. 284, no. March, pp. 67–72, 2019, doi: 10.1016/j.plantsci.2019.03.022.

T. Gülck and B. L. Møller, “Phytocannabinoids: Origins and Biosynthesis,” Trends Plant Sci., vol. 25, no. 10, pp. 985–1004, 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.tplants.2020.05.005.

Z. H. Maayah, S. Takahara, M. Ferdaoussi, and J. R. B. Dyck, “The molecular mechanisms that underpin the biological benefits of full-spectrum cannabis extract in the treatment of neuropathic pain and inflammation,” Biochim. Biophys. Acta – Mol. Basis Dis., vol. 1866, no. 7, p. 165771, 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.bbadis.2020.165771.

E. B. Russo, “Taming THC: Potential cannabis synergy and phytocannabinoid-terpenoid entourage effects,” Br. J. Pharmacol., vol. 163, no. 7, pp. 1344–1364, 2011, doi: 10.1111/j.1476-5381.2011.01238.x.

A. A. Izzo, F. Borrelli, R. Capasso, V. Di Marzo, and R. Mechoulam, “Non-psychotropic plant cannabinoids: new therapeutic opportunities from an ancient herb,” Trends Pharmacol. Sci., vol. 30, no. 10, pp. 515–527, 2009, doi: 10.1016/j.tips.2009.07.006.